Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Read more

Elton John - Honky Chateau (New Vinyl LP)


Top 500 #251

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Originally released in 1972, Honky Chateau is a rollicking collection of ballads, rockers, blues, country-rock, and soul songs. Elton John is at the top of his form, crafting immaculate pop songs with memorable melodies and powerful hooks. Breakout hits include "Honky Cat" and "Rocket Man." Honky Château was titled after the 18th century French chateau where it was recorded, Château d'Hérouville. The album reached number one in the US, the first of seven consecutive US number one albums for Elton John. A third single, "Hercules," was prepared for release, but never materialised. This album marks the beginning of John's transition from a singer/songwriter to a more rock 'n' roll style. It was also the first album to feature John's road band of Dee Murray on bass and Nigel Olsson on drums (along with new member Davey Johnstone on electric and acoustic guitars and other fretted instruments) as the core group of musicians.


A1     Honky Cat     
A2     Mellow     
A3     I Think I'm Going To Kill Myself     
A4     Susie (Dramas)     
A5     Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long, Long Time)     
B1     Salvation     
B2     Slave     
B3     Amy     
B4     Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters     
B5     Hercules